Instant Upload? Yes! Err… No! Wait!!

If you access Google+ using your Android phone, photos and videos you take are automatically uploaded to Google’s cloud via a new tool called Instant Upload. Don’t worry – photos aren’t shared by default, but are stored on a private Picasa Web folder for future sharing. Instant Upload is a fine idea – for a minority of users – but its enabled by default and may take a lot of new G+ users unaware.

If you access Google+ using your Android phone, photos and videos you take are automatically uploaded to Google’s cloud via a new tool called Instant Upload. Don’t worry – photos aren’t shared by default, but are stored on a private Picasa Web folder for future sharing. Instant Upload is a fine idea – for a minority of users – but its enabled by default and may take a lot of new G+ users unaware. To disable Instant Upload, click into the app, Menu > Settings > and at the top of the screen uncheck “Instant Upload.” Like anything else you’d share on G+, photo-sharing is done through circles – chances are you’ll want to be selective and only share certain pictures with certain circles.

Suggested articles

2020 Cybersecurity Trends to Watch

Mobile becomes a prime phishing attack vector, hackers will increasingly employ machine learning in attacks and cloud will increasingly be seen as fertile ground for compromise.

Top Mobile Security Stories of 2019

Cybercrime increasingly went mobile in 2019, with everything from Apple iPhone jailbreaks and rogue Android apps to 5G and mobile-first phishing dominating the news coverage. Here are Threatpost’s Top 10 mobile security stories of 2019.

Discussion

  • Anonymous on

    what´s annoying is that it will upload all your photos and videos, even those downloaded from  the internet. One should be able to choose wich folders to upload from

Subscribe to our newsletter, Threatpost Today!

Get the latest breaking news delivered daily to your inbox.